Centennial Proclamation of the Middle Tennessee Council Executive Board Boy Scouts of America

WHEREAS, in the fledgling years of Scouting, E. Urner Goodman, a young camp director, and Carroll A. Edson, his assistant, searched for a meaningful way to recognize those Scouts in camp who best exemplified the Scout Oath and the Scout Law in their daily lives;

WHEREAS, on July 16th, 1915, the Brotherhood of Cheerful Service began with the first induction ceremony conducted at Treasure Island Scout Camp;

WHEREAS, throughout its history, the Order of the Arrow, has focused on reinforcing and instilling the values of Scouting through service, example, ceremony, and tradition;

WHEREAS, the Order of Arrow became an official part of the Boy Scout program in 1948 and, with the formation of the National Order of the Arrow Committee, began to develop and provide significant leadership opportunities for its youth members;

WHEREAS, the Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge was founded in 1938, and since that time has given countless hours of service to the council, to Boxwell Reservation, to Grimes Canoe Base, to Latimere Reservation, and to the greater Middle Tennessee community. The lodge has also played a crucial role in the development of youth and adult leaders in the council, with 536 Arrowmen awarded the Vigil Honor, 75 honored with the national Founder's Award, and 7 recognized with the national OA Legacy Fellowship.

WHEREAS, 81 lodge chiefs and 20 lodge advisers have worked hand in hand with seven Scout executives, in their role as Supreme Chief of the Fire, to create a winning partnership between the lodge and the council. In addition to its decades of service, since 1994 the lodge has recognized 39 members with the James E. West Fellowship, which reflects \$39,000.00 donated by the Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge to the council endowment;

WHEREAS, the Order of the Arrow celebrated its 100th anniversary during the Centennial National Order of the Arrow Conference from August 3rd to 8th, 2015, at Michigan State University, with more than 15,000 participants and staff members in attendance. Wa-Hi-Nasa was represented by 72 members and an additional 22 served on staff. Over 680 Scouts and Scouters participated in the national ArrowTour program at Boxwell Reservation this summer; and the lodge received recognition for its lodge history book at NOAC.

WHEREAS, the Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge named the following Arrowman as Centurions, a onetime national award, in recognition of their pivotal role in the formation and development of the Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge and by extension their service to the council and to Scouting: Matthew Brown, Clay Capp, David W. Garrett, Hunter Jones, Josh Sain, Craig B. Salazar, Howard B. Olson, Ray T. Capp, Ian M. Romaine, Chris Snoddy, and Ron Turpin.

WHEREAS, the Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge has an exemplary record of service to the national OA program producing National Chiefs Clay Capp and Matt Brown; National Vice Chief Josh Sain; Region

Chiefs Todd Trapnell and Michael Salazar; and four national committee members, including Ray Capp who presided over the 100th anniversary as the National Order of the Arrow Chairman. The lodge has also generated 23 section officers, 4 section advisers, and one long time professional adviser to serve our area.

WHEREAS, the officers and members of the Executive Board of the Middle Tennessee Council, Boy Scouts of America take great pride in the example, service, and leadership that has been and will continue to be provided by members by members of the Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, BY THE EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE MIDDLE TENNESSEE COUNCIL BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA, THAT:

RESOLVED, that in recognition and celebration of the Order of the Arrow's 100th anniversary, the following Proclamation is hereby unanimously adopted and approved this 22nd day of September, 2015:

The officers and members of the Middle Tennessee Council Executive Board, on behalf of the Boy Scouts of America, congratulate and express our sincere appreciation to the past and present members of the Wa-Hi-Nasa Lodge, Order of the Arrow who have served diligently and faithfully since 1938 to provide leadership in service to our council, community, and country; and, as the Order of the Arrow embarks on its second century of service, to its future members who we call upon and dare to continue to observe and preserve the traditions of the Order of the Arrow through their cheerful service to others.

> J.B. BAKER President

GAIL PLUCKETT Commissioner



LARRY BROWN Scout Executive